Purchasing a Vehicle
Newly Purchased Vehicle from an Individual
If you acquire or purchase a vehicle from an individual or a business other than a licensed dealer, you must register the vehicle within seven days from the date of purchase. To apply for registration in your name you must submit the title that has been signed over to you and provide:
- Proof of Georgia emissions (if applicable)
- Proof of Georgia insurance (30-day binder)
- Your Georgia driver's license reflecting your Henry County address
Newly purchased vehicles are subject to Title Ad Valorem Tax that is a one time fee imposed on a motor vehicle title transfer based upon the fair market value of the vehicle at the rate of 7%.
If a passing emissions test has been performed within the last 12 months, you will not need a new inspection.
Non-Title Vehicles (1985 & Older)
If you are applying for a tag only because a Georgia title is not required and your vehicle is currently registered in a non-title state/country, you must submit the vehicle's original valid registration certificate, issued in your name or properly assigned to you. If the registration was not issued in your name and there are no spaces for transferring ownership, originally signed bills of sale must be submitted establishing a complete and correct unbroken chain of ownership. You must also submit an original Certificate of Inspection, T-22B form completed and signed by a Georgia law enforcement officer after he/she makes a visual inspection of your vehicle's ID plate.
Any officer completing the Certificate of Inspection, T-22B form, must query the Georgia Crime Information Center, to determine if the vehicle is stolen and he/she shall indicate that the query was made on the T-22B form. This form will not be accepted if it is incomplete or contains alterations or erasures.
*** We accept Cash, Check, Money Order and Credit/Debit Cards (a fee of 2.5% +.30 will be added to the total amount of the transaction).***